UFC 98 Bonuses And Live Gate

"UFC 98: Evans vs Machida" took place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas Nevada on May 23rd. In the post fight press conference, Dana White stated that the event drew in 12,606 spectators with a $3.4 million gate revenue. The Nevada State Athletic Commission will be confirming these numbers later on in the week. Also of note was that the bonuses given were $60,000 each for Fight of the Night, Submission of the Night, and Knock Out of the Night.

Fight of the Night honors went to Matt Hughes and Matt Serra. Bitter rivals for more than two years, these two finally squared off and got to settle their differences in the octagon. Hughes ended up the victor by decision, but the former champ was in serious danger early in the first round when Serra hit him with a couple of hard rights.

Submission of the Night went to Brock Larson who took on late replacement Mike Pyle on the undercard. Larson was able to secure an arm triangle three minutes into the first round.

While there were four (T)KO's on the card, none was more devastating than Lyoto Machida's knock out of Rashad Evans. Machida found his distance in round 2 and unloaded with a barrage of punches and kicks which rocked Evans more than one time. Evans stood up, but was noticeably rocked and Machida went in for the kill just under four minutes into the second round.

The paydays do not include any bonuses given out by the UFC. As reported, UFC 98 had a live gate revenue of $3.4 million with 12,606 fans in attendance.

The full payouts include:
Lyoto Machida: $140,000 (includes $70,000 win bonus)
def. Rashad Evans: $200,000

Matt Hughes: $200,000 ($100,000 win bonus)
def. Matt Serra: $75,000

Drew McFedries: $34,000 ($17,000 win bonus)
def. Xavier Foupa-Pokam: $6,000

Chael Sonnen: $50,000 ($25,000 win bonus)
def. Dan Miller: $15,000

Frankie Edgar: $40,000 ($20,000 win bonus)
def. Sean Sherk: $40,000

Brock Larson: $42,000 ($21,000 win bonus)
def. Mike Pyle: $15,000

Tim Hague: $10,000 ($5,000 win bonus)
def. Pat Barry: $7,000

Kyle Bradley: $8,000 ($4,000 win bonus)
def. Phillipe Nover: $10,000

Krzysztof Soszynski: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
def. Andre Gusmao: $5,000

Yoshiyuki Yoshida: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
def. Brandon Wolff: $3,000

George Roop: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
def. David Kaplan: $8,000