Page 1 of 2 12 Last

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Need Dojo Recommendation in NYC

Hi Bullshidoers,

When I was a kid, I studied TKD and although they were the real deal, I wasn't. I gained some skills (some of which I've tested in live situations), but quit when I was 16.

I recently started doing some Filipino stick/knife stuff, and I'm enjoying it, but it's not fully suiting my needs. I want to supplement it with a well-rounded style (i.e. not just grappling and not just striking). Here's what I'm looking for:

-=> Exercise (I want to leave class panting and do some strength training)
    -=> Self-defense (I want my skills to realistically transfer to street situations)
    -=> Sparring (with contact)
    -=> Located on the West side of Manhattan (where I live/work)
    -=> Not fancy (rat holes are fine as long as the dojo is swept)

I'm open to a number of styles and am curious about learning grappling, having never done any. The ideal dojo would offer classes in multiple styles. I don't care about belts or competition. I'm not interested in attitude. I just want to be pushed hard for a couple nights a week.

Can anybody here recommend a dojo, perhaps one they've actually trained at?

Thanks,
    HHH

and good morning to you too supporting member
    Style
    MT/BJJ
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Boxing meets every one of your wants.

You just can't learn the secret anti-grapple or ground work kata's until you get your belt.
    You can't make people smarter. You can expose them to information, but your responsibility stops there.

Style
    Yudo, Karate
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Got lot of choices, unfournately I don't think any of these places are near where you work.

http://www.kyokushinkarate.com/about/docs/aboutus.htm

http://www.oishi-judo.com/FRAME.htm

http://www.renzogracie.com/html/academy/location.aspx

Style
    Muay Thai
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!