Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Style
    BJJ, AAM-KA-JITSU
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Jab or cross in karate

When I studied karate we were taught the standard boxing punches, and we also boxed sometimes.

However, I don't recall such punches in kata, and don't believe traditional karate contains those punches. The closest I can think of would be backfist as a sort of jab, and reverse punch as cross.

Can anyone confirm if they know of something along the lines of a strait jab in karate?

Style
    None
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm pretty sure Wado Ryu has a straight-lead punch (basically a jab, with a vertical fist).

Style
    Kyokushin
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I have been taught them in my Kyokushin dojo, but I haven't seen them in any Kyokushin kata.

Kata... it's a good moving meditation but honestly I think partnered drills and padwork/bagwork are better for actually learning how to fight. And even better than that is... fighting to learn how to fight.

Style
    BJJ, AAM-KA-JITSU
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Evergrey View Post
    I have been taught them in my Kyokushin dojo, but I haven't seen them in any Kyokushin kata.

Kata... it's a good moving meditation but honestly I think partnered drills and padwork/bagwork are better for actually learning how to fight. And even better than that is... fighting to learn how to fight.
    I bring up kata because it is my understanding that traditional karate was trained almost totally via kata. Kyokushin only dates to '64 (and started development in the late '50s), and according to my MA history book Japanese karate didn't spar at all until 1940.

Style
    Karate, w/ a side of judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!