Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Style
    none currently
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Older dude looking for BJJ in south L.A.

Hello all!
    I am a long time lurker of this site and finally registered as I was hoping for some personal advice.

I recently moved to the Southbay area of Los Angles (Hermosa Beach/Manhattan Beach). This place seems to be a hotbed of BJJ training and I REALLY want to do it. However, I am almost 40 and the few schools I've actually walked by seemed to be FULL of 15-17 year olds which is cool, but I am hoping to find a school with older guys like myself. Would anybody have any school recommendations for such a place in the Southbay area of Los Angeles?

About me: I am active and have a MINIMAL background in Wing Chun and boxing. I work in healthcare as an EMT and have been drawn to the ideology of BJJ (chokes, locks, holds instead of striking) as a means of helping protect myself from patients who are out of control.

Thanks all!
    (I had to quickly rewrite this as my last attempt got blocked or something)

Style
    BJJ+Sanda
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Welcome. Shouldn't matter how old you are in a quality gym. I'm an old n00b myself, getting owned by kids is part of the game. I get revenge by using Fat Old Man Strength on them periodically.
    "Systema, which means, 'the system'..."

Quote Originally Posted by strikistanian View Post
    DROP SEIONAGI ************! Except I don't know Judo, so it doesn't work, and he takes my back.
    Quote Originally Posted by Devil
    Why is it so goddamn hard to find a video of it? I've seen videos I'm pretty sure are alien spacecraft. But still no good Krav.
    Quote Originally Posted by Plasma
    At the point, I must act! You see my rashguard saids "Jiu Jitsu vs The World" and "The World" was standing in front me teaching Anti-Grappling in a school I help run.
    [quote=SoulMechanic]Thank you, not dying really rewarding in more ways than I can express.[/[quote]

Style
    BJJ