Escrima/kali stick suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Escrima/kali stick suggestions?

I have been training in kali for about 7 months now. So far I've been learning with aluminum knife and sword trainers.

Do any of you escrimadors have any suggestions for sites that have good quality rattan at a good price? I have seen the prices range from as low as $6.50 to $40 a stick.

Thanks

Originally posted by spamurai13 View Post
    I have been training in kali for about 7 months now. So far I've been learning with aluminum knife and sword trainers.

Do any of you escrimadors have any suggestions for sites that have good quality rattan at a good price? I have seen the prices range from as low as $6.50 to $40 a stick.

Thanks
    I go with Franks Cane & Rush Supply

You're looking at about $3 per stick before shipping.

A $40 stick had better be able to jump up and fight all by itself, at that price.

Comment

lol, $40 a stick is someone trying to get paid. its a stick for crying out loud

Comment

what are you looking to use these for? the dime-sized mickey mouse sticks will probably suit your purposes fine, and they're cheap enough.

Comment

Thanks everyone. I'll check out the link.

For now I don't need the porsche of escrima sticks. I'm still quite new and need the sticks for light sparring and drills.

Comment

I use the sticks made by cold steel. They are damned near unbreakable and feel almost the same as a rattan. Little pricey but they are the last ones you will ever need to buy.

Comment

If quality is what you're after Dog Bros make damn good sticks. I bought one of the "Top Dog" sticks and a set of the "Crafty Dogs". Sticks are sold in pairs for around $30 and singly for less. Check out they're site. They last but they tend to be on the thicker side of the spectrum from what i've seen, but that does seem to help with the grip when wearin gloves.
              http://dogbrothers.com/store/index.php?cPath=29