Quang/Hung Kuen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quang/Hung Kuen?

The university in the next town over where some of my friends live has a kung fu school. A few years back when I studied there I remember it being shown as a Hung Kuen school and it has the five animals of Hung Ga, but unlike what I usually hear of HK and its four main forms, it has broken the five animals into a form each. Since Ive moved away it has changed its description to Quang Kuen and from what I can see has Tan Tui and a lot of forms I dont recognize from my experience training at Hung Gar clubs for seminars or just generally watching videos. Could be a village style but it also says the Quang Kuen was developed in Malaysia. Im not sure if this is some bizarre branch or just a weird naming choice but its odd to me it would change style name from a few years ago.

Theres a couple of videos on their facebook page and wondered if a more Hung inclined member knows what they are looking at.

For reference, heres a flyer from when I was a student

[image]https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net...b9&oe=5E445B8C[/image]

Originally posted by kimjonghng View Post
    The university in the next town over where some of my friends live has a kung fu school. A few years back when I studied there I remember it being shown as a Hung Kuen school and it has the five animals of Hung Ga, but unlike what I usually hear of HK and its four main forms, it has broken the five animals into a form each. Since Ive moved away it has changed its description to Quang Kuen and from what I can see has Tan Tui and a lot of forms I dont recognize from my experience training at Hung Gar clubs for seminars or just generally watching videos. Could be a village style but it also says the Quang Kuen was developed in Malaysia. Im not sure if this is some bizarre branch or just a weird naming choice but its odd to me it would change style name from a few years ago.