Announcement

Collapse

FORUM MAINTENANCE

FORUM MAINTENANCE THIS EVENING!!! PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THE FORUMS WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR A PERIOD OF TIME. JOIN US ON THE DISCORD, INSTEAD!
See more
See less

judo without gi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

judo without gi

hi guys recently i started training judo because i found a very good olympic judo place near my house everything is ideal except that they dont do no gi training.

i hear lots of ppl say judo is only useful for gi, i want to ask how true is this?
    doesnt jujutsu also use a gi and people say that its very good without gi tho?
    sambo and bjj both have jacket as far as im concerned, can anyone explain? because if i train judo id want to be able to use it proficiently without gi otherwise i think i might train something else

JNP is going to ejudo your thread because it's in the wrong place. Many judo throws can be done with or without gis. Others can be modified to be done without a gi. If you are just beginning to study judo there is quite a lot to learn before you need to even worry about that. Now go read some stickies before you post anything else.

Comment

Originally posted by MehmetA View Post
      hi guys recently i started training judo because i found a very good olympic judo place near my house everything is ideal except that they dont do no gi training.

i hear lots of ppl say judo is only useful for gi, i want to ask how true is this?
      doesnt jujutsu also use a gi and people say that its very good without gi tho?
      sambo and bjj both have jacket as far as im concerned, can anyone explain? because if i train judo id want to be able to use it proficiently without gi otherwise i think i might train something else