A noob here!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A noob here!!!

Hi, i am a noob, and I love your site. I have trained in TKD for 2 years and Shotokan Karate for 2 years also. I know Traditional martial arts have many stupid techniques, but I know it depends on the school, and mostly on ourselves. I practice mostly sport TKD, and I know that practicing point sparring I am not prepared to take a MT fighter or boxer, but I love kicks, so i don't care too much. Is true that I would like to practice to sprawl, pass guard, armbars, triagle chokes, but right now I dont have access to a good BJJ school, but who knows? maybe in the future.

Keep the good work!!!!

Why does 'liking kicks' make point sparring an acceptable substitute?

Comment

Originally posted by v1y View Post
      How does "liking kicks" make MMA somehow not applicable? =/

I mean, Cro Cop likes kicks too.

As for point-sparring, eh. It's kind of fun. Like a game of tag. It's more fun if you put at least a LITTLE impact into it; otherwise, you'll get "tagged" and never notice.

Comment

Originally posted by v1y View Post
        Is not, i didn't say that, but I like it. It teaches you speed, and doesn't leave you with many bruises. Well in my level, because the BB fight without protection and they go all out.
        Maybe in the future I will train Kickboxing, MT or other full contact sport, but in my city is very hard to find a good school.

Comment

Remember, you can condition your legs without a school. All you need is a heavy bag and if you want to up the ante, you can get a sand bag or even a nice post to whack your shins on.
          But go slow..gradually your shins will get nice and hard.
          Do you do any conditioning in your Karate?
          " If one wants to have a friend one must also want to wage war for him: and to wage war one must be capable of being an enemy." - Fr. Nietzsche 'On The Friend' Thus Spake Zarathustra

Comment