Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I want to participate in one of those throwdowns.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want to participate in one of those throwdowns.

I want to participate in one of those throwdowns put right now I probably lack the skills. I have used 5 years training tae kwon do. I trained as hard as I could and I rarely missed any trainings. I even got 2 gold medals from the local championship. However :/ tae kwon do isn't really the best fighting art out there. How much more a fighter would I be if I invested my time and effort somewhere else?

I am currently doing judo. I haove done it almost 1 year now. I am not really good at it. the thing is that I am the skinniest guy in the dojo. I am also the guy with least experience.

Right now. I am considering to start doing bjj because the local bjj instructor is very impressive. bjj costs alot more than judo but it is affordable.

I need to gain weight. my bmi is around 21. I eat unhealthy. I like candy and I haven't really put any effort into eating right. maybe my weight would go up if I put some effort into eating. I hope so. 3 hours training is enough right?

It seems that alot of people do bjj these days. Is bjj the art that I should do? maybe somebody have some advice for me? I generally want to prepare so my opponents don't get bored.

Throwdowns are just friendly sparring sessions. no need to "train" for one. I see them more as learning experiences more than fighting. If you go to the Throwdowns section of the board, you may find one in your area.
    I feel like you eye-bawlin' me, dawg!

Comment

so it is totally ok if I come unskilled and in terrible shape?

Comment

Originally posted by Uglybugly View Post
        Personally, I had done two years of Silat and boxing, and about 10 h total of grappling on my first TD (The EuroMega in Belgium, last year).

I had the time of my life! :inlove: