Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Lurker No Longer...

Sup peoples,

Training in the Bull City of Medicine: Durham, N.C., U.S.A.

(I am a white belt) Learning Judo & Neko-Ryu Goshin Jitsu @ Bushido Judo School @ East Coast Defense. I am looking to work hard, train, and get a crapload of mat hours. I'll take applicable skill over a colored belt any day of the week. However, I am looking to make Shodan in just under a decade in both arts.

I've had some previous experience in:

Kyokushin Karatedo, Gendai Goshin Jitsu (a Neko-Ryu derivative), CRDT, Wing Chun, WTF Tae Kwon Do, and Boxing.

I currently work in the Corrections side of Law Enforcement as an officer.

By the by... this site has saved me from even visiting the dojo of one Jason Brinn.

Any tips I should know to minimize injuries to fingers, toes, shoulders, etc.?

With that... kudos and good work.

JJX out.
    Last edited by JJX; 1/16/2010 9:45pm, . Reason: I am a Corrector.

Cat style self defense ?

Is it this stuff ?
    YouTube- Ernie Cates - Neko Ryu Goshin Jitsu

why take that if you already take judo, wouldnt wrestling be more benificial ?
    do you spar with full resistence and pressure test the techniques, if so, are the usefull moves any different from the ones you use in judo ?

Comment

After watching both styles in action today (Judo & Neko-Ryu classes are combined on Saturday) Neko-Ryu focuses more on controlling individuals after the throw, pin, choke, etc. Neko-Ryu also has the self-defense strikes (palm heel) and low kicks (cross heel stomp, soccer ball, etc.)

By the way, its in the same dojo throughout the week on opposite days at a damned good price.

So I get competition Judo on one day and the pure asskickery of a Jujutsu/Judo/MMA class that fits my job and the use of force policy of my career field (which is why I had to give up Kyokushin).