• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rashed evans bjj bb

http://www.gogoplata.com/2010/01/02/...jj-black-belt/

i just say this and have to say... wow.

and this

http://www.fighters.com/01/03/the-ri...aningless-belt

Does Rolles have a history of giving out fake blackbelts?
    Fight Film Friday
    Watching violence on film, violently.
    Click here to donate!

Comment

First of all let me be honest and say I'm not a Rashad fan. Honestly he's one of my least favorite fighters and I was hoping that Silva was going to knock his ass out.

That being said I don't see a problem will Rolls awarding Rashad a black belt, if he feels he really deserves it. You can call Rashad's belt "fake", but the only people that can be sure are people that have rolled with him.

As an instructor I've always felt the belts were about having the skill, not how many years you put in, whether or not you jumped through the proper hoops, etc.

If Rashad can hold his own rolling against the "typical" BJJ black belt, which I have no doubt he can, he should have the belt.

Comment

Originally posted by Punisher View Post
        If Rashad can hold his own rolling against the "typical" BJJ black belt, which I have no doubt he can, he should have the belt.
        I disagree. First, we have no idea whether Mr. Evans can hold his own against other BJJ black belts with the gi on. I would argue that it is a requirement to be able to compete successfully against others of similar rank with the gi to be ranked in BJJ. Maybe he can, maybe he can't. I don't know.

What I do know is that Mr. Evans has never demonstrated any high level grappling ability beyond wrestling in any of his MMA matches. I've never seen him pull off a sweep from guard, or a reversal from bottom that looked like jiu-jitsu. However, I frequently miss fights so I could be wrong here.

While I'm hesitant to question Rolles Gracie's judgement, I note Renzo has done so already in the article Random Triangle linked to.