Hello Intelligent Martial Artists

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello Intelligent Martial Artists

Hey. Name's Matt, 20 years old, Junior in College (I'm majoring in Justice Administration, another word for Criminal Justice). I started learning Shobayashi Shorin-Ryu Karate when I was about 11. I reached 6th kyu white belt, but never got any higher rank as unfortunately the dojo closed due to money issues (Sensei lost his day job.) My sensei was an ex-marine corps MP, who learned from Sam Pearson while in the Marines.
    Unfortunately we never did full contact sparring, but then again no one got above white belt. However, he did teach judo techniques, always reminding me that most fights end up on the ground, and we did have freeform grappling. I still practice a lot but on my own which is something I need to remedy, and am about to start learning Brazilian Jiu-Jutsu sometime soon.
    I collect knives and am starting to collect battle-ready swords. I Have a generation 2 Irish Hand and A half longsword and just got a Hanwei practical Shinobi ninja-to. I know that one's not historically accurate but it looks cool ;]
    I also am a traditional archer, meaning I shoot long bows and recurve bows rather than modern compounds.

Anyways I have a Bullshido story: