Hi Folks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi Folks

Hey everyone, total beginner here. I've been a fan of MA since I was just a wee lad, but never had the guts to take part. I've now decided to just get over myself and start training, because I know I'm going to end up regretting it down the line if I don't. I've been offered a free first lesson of kickboxing next week so I'm going to go and try that and see how it goes.

Is kickboxing a good choice for a striking art? I always hear great things about regular boxing (footwork, excellent punching) and Muay Thai (conditioning, clinching, more tools) but it's harder to get good info about kickboxing and what makes it stand out.

Anyway, I'm excited about starting up and hope I've found something rewarding

cheers

Originally posted by buttonmasher View Post
    Hey everyone, total beginner here. I've been a fan of MA since I was just a wee lad, but never had the guts to take part. I've now decided to just get over myself and start training, because I know I'm going to end up regretting it down the line if I don't. I've been offered a free first lesson of kickboxing next week so I'm going to go and try that and see how it goes.

Is kickboxing a good choice for a striking art? I always hear great things about regular boxing (footwork, excellent punching) and Muay Thai (conditioning, clinching, more tools) but it's harder to get good info about kickboxing and what makes it stand out.

Anyway, I'm excited about starting up and hope I've found something rewarding

cheers

From what I've seen on these forums and other places is that a lot really depends on the teacher. If the art is great but the instructor sucks you lose. But if the art is shit and the instructor is great you may end up winning.

Any links/names? It seems that all the Bullshido members combined know the answer to any question. Scary. Its like a martial arts interactive Wikipedia.

edit: forgot to say, welcome.

Comment