Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Convincing parents of safety of BJJ?

Hey everyone,

I did an hour and a half of positions, some basic technique drilling and some light rolling with a BJJ blue belt who's in my Hapkido school and helps out with beginner classes at a BJJ place here in Boulder, CO. I'd really love to get in to BJJ, but my parents are worried (yes, parents--I'm a high school freshman :P) because "it has chokes. It sounds like something could go wrong. In the heat of the moment, what if someone snaps your neck?"

Does anyone have any ideas on how I can convince them of its safety? I'm positive the instructors and students are all level-headed, reasonable and know how to let go when someone (probably me, since I'm brand new to ground fighting/grappling) "taps out," but my parents are suggesting things like meeting all 10, 15 of the instructors at the school, or having me participate in BJJ without submissions (...wtf?). They've already ruled Judo completely the hell out because I could "seriously get hurt."

Any tips?
    I'm trying to get into a martial art that's not frowned on by 90% of the community here, but the 'rents are making it damn annoying.

Thanks guys,
    Hylas

I liked this guys article from http://parents.berkeley.edu/recommen...tial-arts.html
    "Preparing mentally, the most important thing is, if you aren't doing it for the love of it, then don't do it." - Benny Urquidez

Comment

Tell them it's safer than football.

Just don't forget to tap and hear "I told you so!"
      Carter Hargrave's Jeet Can't Do

http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=31636

Comment

Originally posted by hungryjoe View Post
        Tell them it's safer than football.

Just don't forget to tap and hear "I told you so!"
        My little brother plays football, so I told them that :P
        They said "there aren't chokes in football, and a ref can come break up a fight between players."