Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

to all who listen

Hello,

This is my first attempt at posting something on Bullshido , but I am here to change that. First and foremost, I am not much of a martial artist because being rather short and fat, its hard to practice Shotokan with the high Maoashigeris, but I am a faced with a real dilema now. From where I belong a small backwaters city in India , I currently have four choices of martial arts to choose from:-

1) Shotokan Karate,

2) Sports Judo,

3) Aikido,

4) Krav Maga,

The last being quite expensive here, considering that I am around 24 and short and fat and not possesed of great physical courage or stamina what art would you suggest, to boost my moral regarding Self defense?
    :hello:

I would recommend Judo, however, check for sparring ruleset. Some dojos just want to collect "rent money" if you get my point.

Also, don't rely on Martial Arts to condition or trim your fat. That's what gym membership is for. The arts you listed aren't exactly cardio or anerobic intensive.

Comment

Being short and round is practically an advantage in Judo, focus on that imo.

Depending on whether it's a good school or not, you might pick up some useful tools from Shotokan though. There's no advantage to being short in a striking art, but one should learn to close distance very quickly and safely which is a good skill for a short guy who does Judo to have.

In the end though, getting in better shape is part of self-defense. Stick with something and your body will adjust over time.
      Last edited by maofas; 12/30/2009 8:10am, .

Comment

Originally posted by Whathappened View Post

Also, don't rely on Martial Arts to condition or trim your fat. That's what gym membership is for. The arts you listed aren't exactly cardio or anerobic intensive.
        Judo drills can be cardio intensive..........