Bloodlust during sparring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bloodlust during sparring?

I apologize for the imaginative thread title, but I couldn't think of any other way to put it.

I'm a newbie to MMA and fighting in general, but I've been going to a club for a few months and have been greatly enjoying it.

The only problem I have is that when I'm sparring I like to pick my shots and keep distance, but when my opponent gets in close and starts getting hits in my training flies out the window and I start to fight wildly (within the sparring rules).

Although this usually results in my opponent backing off and me getting a nice flurry in, I've been chided by my coaches for being too aggressive.

How do I deal with this? Should I try to focus on clinch fighting or something similar?

Welcome to Bullshido.

Spend more time in that range so that you get comfortable. Those "nice flurries" are the result of you escalating the level of intent and the level of contact beyond those of your sparring partner, and are not demonstrations of learned skill.
    Last edited by NJM; 11/11/2009 1:58am, .

Comment

Thank you for insight, I hadn't thought of it that way. What can I do to improve myself in that range?
      Last edited by Cojac; 11/11/2009 2:15am, .

Comment

It shows a lack of control and pacing which will cause you problems as you progress. Just relax a bit more and take your time.

Also if you do that with a senior or club fighter it gives them an invitation to flatten you.
        Ne Obliviscaris

Comment

Put it into your brain to avoid getting into a bloodlust/desperation mindset, even if you are taking a beating. Everyone has to learn the hard way how to work through close-range situations calmly. The best way to do something in an "in-control" manner is to do it many times first.

Maybe ask your partner to work with you in that range.

Comment

Originally posted by Cojac View Post