Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginning sparring: any tips?

Hi guys,

First post. I've been doing muay thai for a few months now. Last few lessons I've been doing some sparring. Previous to this I have been doing pad work. I know that I need more experience before i can have any hope with sparring but i really do suck at the moment. I kind of freeze up, get tense, can't concentrate on both defending or offence at the same time (ie. I can only think of either hitting, or defending myself). it seems I forget all my training as soon as I'm faced with an opponent.
    Anyway, if anyone could recommend some general tips for starting out sparring that would be great.

welcome to Bullshido.
    Only way to improve sparring is to spar.Your reactions were normal when you did sparring.As you said you freezed up that was normal for a beginner.Just continue your training and you will see it.I am just a noob for muay thai but other bullies will help you i think.

Comment

Keep your hands up.

Comment

Originally posted by psytaco View Post
        Hi guys,

First post. I've been doing muay thai for a few months now. Last few lessons I've been doing some sparring. Previous to this I have been doing pad work. I know that I need more experience before i can have any hope with sparring but i really do suck at the moment. I kind of freeze up, get tense, can't concentrate on both defending or offence at the same time (ie. I can only think of either hitting, or defending myself). it seems I forget all my training as soon as I'm faced with an opponent.
        Anyway, if anyone could recommend some general tips for starting out sparring that would be great.
        Yeah sure.

Protect your nuts.

More seriously, just keep it up. You'll freeze up less as you become accustomed to people really trying to hit you in face. As you relax, you'll start finding openings and be able to work both defense and offense. You just need experience. For now, just don't give up!