A judo thread that is actually about Judo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A judo thread that is actually about Judo

I have to confess that I made this thread mainly because I have just started Judo and the other Judo thread was a whiny bitch-fest.

Therefore i will ask that this thread be limited to the discussion of Judo.

I am a total Judo noob but I find it to be awesome fun. I have my first grading this weekend on sunday.

I am a BJJ blue belt and i was surprised at how little this actually helped me. My newaza is good (obviously) but my throws/takedowns suck bad. Also because I have been doing submission grappling for the last few years (no-gi) my grips also suck a bit. I find myself reaching for underhoks instead of Gi grip, etc.

Last night I did randori with six different guys (ranging from 1st kyu to 3rd dan) and had my ass handed to me. I find this both excellent (because someday i want to be this good) and incredibly frustrating (because i suck so bad and am not used to that). The only takedown i got was a double-leg (which i learned in my MMA class).

So, if anyone (who actually knows Judo) has any tips for me I would apprieciate it. Also, you can discuss favourite techniques, entries, grips, etc.

JUDO ROCKS!!!!:waoya

One day I would like to do Judo. If only I wasn't so fat and lazy and useless and stupid and...you get the idea.:icon_sad:

Comment

If you would like to see a judo thread about judo cast your eyes hither and thither.

Comment

Just keep at it, it will get easier and you will bet better.

Comment

I am a judo noob too:) my favorite throw is uchi mata.

I have also had some success with a throw I don't know the name of. I basically grab both arms by the sleve. I then push 1 arm above my head while I turn and go low. I also trap his other arm on my stomach.