Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some Advice..... Please

First I'll introduce myself.

Hi, I am Andrew a 21 year old from New Zealand who is now doing shotokan karate for only a few months. But I have always had an interest in martial arts and I do have a good knowledge of most martial arts.

Now on to my problem, recently in amongst the mountains of junkmail we at our flat get weekly, I found a coupon for our local Muay Thai gym that would give me 3 free months of training, being a poor university student I really do not want to miss this opportunity as I also interested in Muay Thai.

So my question is: Is it a bad idea to be doing 2 striking different martial arts? Especially for me being a noob.

It can't hurt to try out the Muay Thai. In the long run Muay Thai's focus on competition and sparring will help you more then the Shotokan probably will.

At the least it can do no harm.
    I do not aspire to be great, or even good, I hope to suck a little less then last class.

Comment

It is only 3 months, so it is worth trying. After that time, decide which you like better and stick w/ that.

I don't think long term training in both would make much sense.

Comment

Read the fine print

Make absolutely sure that the three free months don't come packaged with a lot of months they want you to pay for ahead of time.

Comment

Also, since you're new: if you haven't watched the videos in this thread, please do so:

http://www.bullshido.net/forums/show...?ltr=M&t=80596

Comment

Originally posted by mgb View Post
            Make absolutely sure that the three free months don't come packaged with a lot of months they want you to pay for ahead of time.
            Yeah. Try it out for a few weeks before you agree to anything on paper. Talk to as many students as you can and get their take on the club. 3 free months could be awesome, or it could lead you into contract shenanigans down the road.

Comment