Beginning Judo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginning Judo

I've just made the choice to take a hiatus from my Japanese Jujitsu club. I'm considering trying Judo for the duration of my 8 week summer. I have found a moderately good club to join up with that is fairly cheap (80 dollars for 8 weeks).

My only concern is that I'm somewhat in the dark on what to expect from it. I've never done Judo before, nor had any experience with it. What kind of things should i expect physically in terms of demand? What should I do to warm up or to train on the side? Any general tips or suggestions for my first day of class?

While any decent school should take care of you no matter what kind of shape you happen to be in, within reason, it would probably help to be in good shape. If you aren't in real crummy shape just go now anyway and work out, because the class will help you get in better shape.
    "Preparing mentally, the most important thing is, if you aren't doing it for the love of it, then don't do it." - Benny Urquidez

Comment

Originally posted by Snwbrdngpoo View Post
      I've just made the choice to take a hiatus from my Japanese Jujitsu club. I'm considering trying Judo for the duration of my 8 week summer. I have found a moderately good club to join up with that is fairly cheap (80 dollars for 8 weeks).

My only concern is that I'm somewhat in the dark on what to expect from it. I've never done Judo before, nor had any experience with it. What kind of things should i expect physically in terms of demand? What should I do to warm up or to train on the side? Any general tips or suggestions for my first day of class?