How long to wait before teaching BJJ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How long to wait before teaching BJJ?

I've been training in BJJ for about 5 years now and I got my purple belt last year. I still feel that I have a lot to learn but what are your opinions on the best time to start teaching? My instructors are both black belts and I would still be learning from them in the process at the same school. The instructors are not always available though and sometimes need someone to teach morning classes. If I was to do that though I would need to quit my full-time job and teach full time including privates. Do you think purple belt is too early or should you always wait until brown or black belt?

Purple belt is currently considered the minimum rank required before you are qualified to teach BJJ.
    Shut the hell up and train.

Comment

How much would a purple belt charge as opposed to a brown or black belt? How does one determine what's fair?

Comment

If you're talking about regular monthly rate, it would just be the monthly tuition. If you're asking how much a private class would be from a purple belt with limited teaching experience, i'm not sure but I'd probably think around $20 for an hour session considering how black belts charge in excess of $100 for an hour long session.

Comment

Tell your black belt instructors that you'd be interested as long as they pay you a salary that's comparable to your current salary. You know you won't be be teaching all the time, but running morning and Saturday classes. When you're not teaching, you'll be running the front desk, answering phones, running the website, etc. The "gym manager" who does all this at my gym is a purple belt.

Private lessons would be a nice bonus, but I wouldn't count on them to help you pay rent.

Rudy Reyes > Bear Grylls

Comment

I'd say that your instructors are best qualified to let you know when you're able to teach.