New in Dallas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New in Dallas

Hello, I'm a complete newbie in Dallas on the search for what and where to train. I'm interested in MA to get me in better shape doing something engaging and useful, and also because I hear it will make me more manly and teach me awesome things to show off at bars to strangers and drunk chicks.

I am checking this over and it is really long so here is the summary:
    Spoiler:

• Want to start Muay Thai or Judo in Dallas
    • No previous experience
    • Not a couch potato but want to get in better shape, I sit too much at work
    • I like Panang with Beef, 2 star
    • Like to hear about others' first day experiences to make me less nervous

I've been lurking here for a bit and done some searching, and here are the conclusions I have come to so far:

I'm most interested in Muay Thai and Judo. I understand that BJJ and Boxing are also well loved here and would provide me with the requisite amount of aliveness and activity, but they simply don't interest me as much right now. Perhaps that could change in the future.

I am not currently interested in paying to train both, so for now at least I have to pick.

For Muay Thai it would seem I am pretty damn lucky: after work I can drive 15 min to Saekson Janjira Muay Thai (SMTA), which I visited last week and watched a Friday workout led by a student, Chidi Njokuani, while Saekson was away for a seminar. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't see what would be a typical Tuesday/Thursday workout but visiting ont eh day I'd probably go normally didn't occur to me before I went. It would certainly get me into better shape, and everyone seemed very friendly, helpful and welcoming of beginners. There are apparently also JJ classes there but I don't know who teaches them (forgot to ask.)