My Martial Art Sucks(MMAS)!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Martial Art Sucks(MMAS)!

I've seen lots of Your Martial Art Sucks threads(or variations of the theme), but I don't think I've seen any My Martial Art Sucks thread.

I mean come on, even MMA has it's craps and downfalls

so let me start this thread by bashing my own MA
    (my teachers or my seniors will kill me if they see this lol)

I've been practicing Kyullyun Taekkyon(KT) for about 2 1/2 years now. There are 3 main branches of Taekkyon in Korea, and Kyullyun is the most minor branch of the big 3.

KT is composed of kicks, throws, take-downs, sweeps and locks. We do learn hand strike techniques, but we aren't allawed to use them in sparring sessions or competitions.

I'm fine with not using fists, becuase I can focus more on stand-up wrestling and clinching without my fists curled. That way I can use my kicks at a distance, and switch to clinching when my opponent gets close. But I still wish, at least in the gym, to let us spar with hand strikes. I mean, what's the point of teaching a technique you are never going to use!!! That's +15 to gayness right there!

However, despite putting alot of emphasis on kicks, we are not allawed full-contact kicks to the body!
    In Taekkyon we are encouraged to catch our oppenents kicks and take them down. A middle kick is one of the easiest kicks to catch, and since we don't use hand strikes, it's extremely difficult to land a successful kick to the body. So even when they allawed body kicks in KT competitions, nobody really used it much.
    So why in the hell did they ban full-contact body kicks?? I have no idea, and my teachers keep telling me it's unTaekkyonish to do middle kicks. Another +25 to gayness!!