Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Noob - can't believe anyone's interested in us but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob - can't believe anyone's interested in us but...

I'm a 37 year old noob. No idea why there's any interest in noobs but as soon as I signed in, a big, flashing sign appeared saying 'why don't you try introducing yourself.' Background is a half-decent 18 stone (114kgs) ex-rugby player (front row) who did a bit of kickboxing in the 90s (loved it), boxing (not that good but spar / train a little every now and again) and now judo.

Oh and I am Chinese brought up in Europe. This makes it particularly tiresome when individuals mistranslate or deliberately misinterpret Chinese terminology and then insist they are right. Lots of mysticism comes from basic mistranslation and if you have any Chinese tattoos, I am happy to check them over for you as long as you don't mind me sharing the often hilarious results with my Chinese friends (one guy actually had 'page 2' tattooed on his arm).

I mention rugby because I recently started judo and my throwing combos are based on my 25 years of OK rugby. By this, I mean there are techniques which translate to variations of judo throws and are great against other noobs in randori. Realistically, they will not continue to work at more advanced levels but this is something I will find out.

In addition to three judo sessions per week, I am starting to train with a 300lb BJJ guy once per week because the voices in my head told me to do it (does anyone out there really read this stuff...?)

Judo is fantastic but my only frustration is a lack of competition as I am used to competing every weekend in rugby. In randori, I only train at 50% power max whereas I would love to open up and challenge myself against real, live opponents looking to strangle me into unconsciousness. If anyone knows of any newbie competitions in the UK or maybe France, I'd love to go.