Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bak Fu Pai

Originally posted by SixStringFist
    Before I forget....isn't White Tiger Kung Fu another name for Chin-Na? I forgot to ask my sifu about that tonight. Anyone know?
    No, it's not. But before I get to that, let me give my (long-winded) background and thoughts regarding BFP for posterity.

Bak Fu Pai

For several months I studied BFP / 5 Ancestors (or 18 Daoist Palms, or Fae Fung San Something [Flying Phoenix Cleasing something or other]--whatever they call their qigong forms). This was at a small gym, downtown San Diego, run by Rich Robson (sp?). He's certified to teach by Doo Wai. Given that Rich wasn't about making water boil magically, or claiming he could break things, and basically just said "take what works from this and leave the rest", and seemed to be able to teach me some things (and the price was right)--all this made me feel like it was a good place to study.*

From my personal, limited experience at one BFP gym, my take on the system is this: as interpreted by sifu Robson, it's very similar to Yiquan. There are not really any "fixed" sets or motions at the core of it. "There are 10,000 moves, but only 1 movement"--i.e., the sets are just a means to focus on the underlying principles (balance, posture, spatial awareness, tracking, &c) that should spontaneously go into every move. So, theoretically, any set will work (though some are better suited to particular goals than others). The BFP three or four sets I learned (Mou Hing I think?) borrow heavily in form and execution from the soft internal schools, but also add some moves from the external schools (mostly kicking and legwork), and have some of the explosive jin-generating moves from like in Xingyi, &c. And we'd also do a faster variation of some of the sets as well.