Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

About how much time is reasonable to commit to amateur MMA?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

About how much time is reasonable to commit to amateur MMA?

Without any expectations of going pro. I've been committing about 20 hours give or take for the last 6 months to training and my girlfriend and relatives are concerned I'm letting it get in the way of my personal life and getting back into college. I'm starting to think that maybe that they're right because most of the people I train with are pretty hardcore and plan on moving up and come from a combative sport background like wrestling and plan and going pro or are just dumbasses and are deluding themselves. Maybe I should just stick to one MA like BJJ and just compete in that for fun.

But for a profession I should probably graduate college.

How long you should train really depends on your goals, and reasons for training.

Obviously, your goal is not to be a professional, so that lowers the amount of hours.

If you're intending on going to college, that will perhaps also lower the number of hours. Ditto having a girlfriend.

Basically, train as much as you can, without it ruining other aspects of your life. (girlfriend, college, family/friends, other hobbies).

There's no set answer.

I personally only do 4 hours of judo a week, although i'd prefer to be doing 6 or 8.

Comment

I don't plan on going pro or anything like that and spend between 6 to 8 hours a week training. Between my career, girlfriend and responsibilities at home I find it hard to put any more time than that during the work week. My gym is not open on weekends but I have plans to do some training with some of my buddies on the weekend. This might add an extra 4 to 6 hours of training time.