Newb doesn't know

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newb doesn't know

Hello. I'm a newbie. I have NO martial arts experience at all, but I want to try fighting someone in a competitive setting. I'm pretty old for a beginner, late 20's, so I don't know if this is realistic at all. I know that just about anyone in the world would kick my ass, and I'm extremely weak and have an incredibly low pain tolerance, so I want to do some training first. I have no idea how to go about this, though. I can't just walk into a MMA gym and ask to train, so what should I do to work up to that point?

Oh yes, glad you guys have this forum here. I've been on the recieving end of lots of speeches from asian-wannabe gamers about the "True Way", pressure points, chi, Samurai Swords cutting through tanks, etc. I know next to nothing about martial arts, but I am a rationalist, so I'm glad there's a place where that stuff gets taken down.
    Last edited by wuss; 3/25/2009 1:55am, .

Originally posted by wuss View Post
    I can't just walk into a MMA gym and ask to train
    Why not?

Comment

Originally posted by SkipSmith View Post
      Why not?
      Don't MMA gyms generally require a high level of previous experience before they accept someone to train there?

Comment

Don't MMA gyms generally require a high level of previous experience before they accept someone to train there?
        nope. walk right in, tell them you have no previous experience whatsoever but you would like to start training. it's pretty uncommon for a gym to train only elite MMA competitors. they should have some experience in training total noobs. it can't hurt to ask.

and no way in hell you're too old, unless you've ruined your knees, shoulders and spine from playing other sports. your body should be pristine. by your description you probably look like a 15 year old boy. go get choked and punched in the face, it'll do you a world of good.

Comment