Advice here people!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice here people!

My old Goju sensei, whom I studied under for my first seven years or so on training has just had a hip replacement. He needs a walking stick to get around now and may always need one.
    He has over 40 years training, starting with a decade or so Kyokushin and greco roman wrestling, then he went to Goju and side trained in JJJ.

He is in his late fifties. Real big guy, about 6 foot 4 inches and probably about a 100kg. He used to hit VERY hard and may still be able to.
    But I worry about him after this.
    He is very well known and respected in TMA circles in NZ and he is a great guy. It pains me to see his capacity limited like this, but age will do that to us all.
    I am very worried though because he owns and runs his own shop in an extremely high crime area.

He's been looking at different types of training to work around the hip problem. As he always has his walking sticks, one of the guys I graded for my BB with waaayyy back in the day has suggested ascrima. No training in it round here though, so theyve got a bunch of videos.
    They know full well the limitations of videos for training, but at least theres a group of them training it and they all have a great deal of MA background so will have little difficulty sifting out the BS and adapting the instruction into an alive training manner (we were one of few TMA groups who did train live. Most of our training was sparring, bags and pads. Kata was present was a minor part of our training, unlike most Goju).

Im jsut worried about the guy and would like any tips about types of training that could make him less vulnerable in his current condition.

Train with the walking stick. If he will always have the walking stick he might as well use it in his training. Learn different strikes with the stick and how to block with the stick.

Comment

Originally posted by JJson