Tapping in a streetfight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tapping in a streetfight

This question goes out to all you filthy sportfighters out there. If you were in a streetfight and your opponent tapped, do you think you would let go out of conditioned reflex?

I've often wondered about this myself as, after six years of BJJ, the reflex is pretty damned ingrained into my psyche. Fortunately none of the morons I've gotten into altercations with since I started training BJJ have seemed to be familar with the tap anyway.

I'm curious as to what the rest of you think? Please think about your answer and do your best to respond honestly. Also it might be helpful if you let us know how long you've been training in sportfighting because of the possibility that newer students haven't become fully accustomed to letting go instantly when someone taps.

I know this subject has been brought up in various threads in the past, but I think it deserves it's own thread at this point. Plus, I never start threads despite having ideas for them regularly so I'm trying to change that, but fear not, I won't go all Kempofist on you guys.
    Shut the hell up and train.

No one would have a chance to tap against me!!!!!

MWHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

(because I would probably loose)

Comment

in the last year or so, I've had 2 situations at our club where after we took the guy down, and 'restrained' him, he'd start tapping
      both times we had to remind the guy that tapping isn't an option on the street...and then proceed to to choke the bitch out

one scenario was from rear mount, RNC