Advice?? Cuz I'm Pissed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice?? Cuz I'm Pissed!

Hi.. My name is Zach and I have a dillema on my hands that just arose today.. I live in a small town in Texas where I have been training in Hapkido for almost 2 years. I just recently got my first Dan BB rank...

Anyway.. My Instructor and I have been pretty tight over the last year or so.. Sometimes he calls me up and we go have lunch and talk Martial Arts.. Lately here, I've been wanting to do some extra curricular sport oriented stuff(kickboxing, boxing, etc..) to boost my workouts, as he has a pretty extensive schedule and can't really help me out too much with that..

.. So today at lunch, I tell him about what my intentions are.. I tell him that I have no intention of leaving his Hapkido Dojang either, but that I just wanna branch out and get a more sport oriented workout training regimen going(aside from the Hapkido Workout)..

Well.. He acts like he can't believe what I'm saying and proceeds to tell me that this is something that he just flat out wouldn't "allow" his students to do.. He also adds that he has no intention of starting a kickboxing curriculum at his school, and that it would pretty much be out of the question..

I'm 29 years old.. I've been in MA off and on since I was 13 or 14, and have never had to confront an attitude like this.. I will be 30 at the end of the summer, I'm a grown man.. I don't see that I should have to put up with this kinda crap from anyone. However, I already payed the guy for this month, not to mention the trip to Korea that has already been bought and payed for that we are going on In March '08.

I've put allot of money into the association that our school is with too. This guy is like the only legitimate Hapkido Master in N. Texas. He's actually backed by the S. Korean Government.