looking for a good Karate school in San Diego, CA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

looking for a good Karate school in San Diego, CA

I have a friend that's going to UCSD and is interested in taking karate. He's thinking of taking it at the local gym but isn't sure if it's a good place or not (www.ucsdkarate.com) and asked me to find any information on it or any information on a good school in the area.

Does anyone know if this place is any good and if not what good karate schools are there that's near UCSD?

I am a UCSD student, although not involved with the karate program, but I spend alotta time around the main gym, where all the MA stuffs goes on mostly.

If your buddy wants to meet plenty of nerdy asian/white girls and do kata all day, it should be great for him. UCSD has a huge MA following, the vast majority of which is Shotokan, Wushu or TKD, very few who do much sparring at all, as far as I have been told and have seen.

Comment

He's interested in being able to fight. I suggested something like BJJ or MT but he's pretty hellbent on Karate.

Comment

If he's hell bent on karate try to find him a shidokan, daido juko, kyokushin or enshin school in the area. He won't learn to fight otherwise.

Don't let your friend become a Shotocunt. He'll think he can fight and then get into trouble. If you like him, keep him out of there.

Apparently goju ryu is supposed to be pretty good but I've no experience of it so I can't recommend it.

I listed Shidokan first because it combines kyokushin, muay thai and grappling. Its rare tho. If I could train anywhere, it'd be a shidokan dojo
        He who attains his ideal by that very fact transcends it- Nietzsche

I like my Te like I like my tea- from Fujian province and without any bullshit in it. Oh, and green. And scented with jasmine blossoms...

Originally posted by A Better American Than You