Hello Bullshido...-Goju in Toronto???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello Bullshido...-Goju in Toronto???

Hello Bullshido, well this is my virgin post, so I figure I'll start my Bullshido career with a question. Does anybody out there hail from the Toronto area, and if they do could they recomend a good Goju or Shotokan school (preferably Goju?) Also has anybody had experience with the Yamanaka Budo Life Center? or Wallace Platt and the CMAC organization....any info/stories/suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I am a complete noob to living in T.O. as well as Bullshido...Thanx p.s. sorry if this post is in the wrong section, but whats the point of being a noob if you can't fuck up once in a while!!!

There's a CMAC Goju school at Yonge & St. Clair. I've only been there a once or twice and I was too young to realistically evaluate their training methods. As for Yamanaka, I have not heard him mentioned in a positive context.

Any particular reason you want to stick with Goju? My school offers all the Shotokan and BJJ you can stand for the same price most schools will charge you for three nights a week of sub-standard teaching.
    Originally posted by The Wastrel
    I think the forum's traditionally light-handed approach to moderation has become untenable.

Comment

thanx for the reply, r u located close to downtown t.o. by any chance?

Comment

Don't do it.

I would avoid the CMAC. I didn't train in toronto, rather a CMAC school in Michigan, the organization is a huge Mcdojo. I tested for my shodan with my instructor for a fee of 150 dollars and then found out that I had to go test with Wallace Platt in toronto for it to be fully recognized. This carried a fee of around $500 or $800 dollars( I can't really remember which). I couldn't afford it so I was never really recognized.

Try doing a search for CMAC and Wallace Platt over at E-Budo.com. You'll find out a lot about the organization and how its run.

Comment