Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Students are just the worst. Coaches and instructors what are your pet peeves!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Students are just the worst. Coaches and instructors what are your pet peeves!?

I've been teaching martial arts for 30 years now and I've noticed that some of my adult students have some of the worst behaviors; I thought I would vent on one of them.

I absolutely hate it when I'm looking at a student and after correcting them a few times they stop and look at you to ask "Did I do that correct?"

My reaction "No, I've been standing here the laughing at you the entire time because I don't like to do my job like correct your mistakes....."

Step forward with your left foot.... No YOUR OTHER LEFT. How did you drive to the dojo today without crashing?

Student: Swings a sword vaguely in my direction
    Me: Standing still. Does nothing and tells the student to hit me. It's ok. We are wearing protective gear.
    Student: Still swings a sword vaguely in my direction
    Me: You didn't play pinata much as a kid did you?

Comment

Originally posted by AcerTempest View Post
      Step forward with your left foot.... No YOUR OTHER LEFT. How did you drive to the dojo today without crashing?

Me: Standing still. Does nothing and tells the student to hit me. It's ok. We are wearing protective gear.
      LOL...yes!!!!

Comment

Comment

Originally posted by AcerTempest View Post
          I often have to struggle to get students to punch me with anything approaching full power to the midsection. They just cannot bring themselves to do it. I have older students kick me to show I can take much worse, but they still cannot do a measly straight punch.
          Of course, I then had complains from parents that the students hurt their feet kicking me.

Comment