• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob who practices "Nippon kempo"

Hallo!

I'm a noob!

I practice "Nippon kempo"!

I see in the FAQs that people who practice uncommon MA are welcome to post about their styles. Should I post a description of Nippon kempo (rules etc.) ?
    If so, should I post it here or in the Japanese MA forum?

Anyway a short description here:
    Nippon kempo is basically a mix of karate + judo. Competition and (often) sparring use heavy protection gear (bogu kumite). It was founded in 1932 so compared to other karate styles is relatively old (although I'm not sure if it is a karate style or an althogether different MA, here in Italy is considered a different MA usually).

You can find a lot of NK videos on youtube, I can't post a link here as I'm a noob but there is a link in my profile.

Originally posted by MisterMR View Post
    Hallo!

I'm a noob!

I practice "Nippon kempo"!

I see in the FAQs that people who practice uncommon MA are welcome to post about their styles. Should I post a description of Nippon kempo (rules etc.) ?
    If so, should I post it here or in the Japanese MA forum?

Anyway a short description here:
    Nippon kempo is basically a mix of karate + judo. Competition and (often) sparring use heavy protection gear (bogu kumite). It was founded in 1932 so compared to other karate styles is relatively old (although I'm not sure if it is a karate style or an althogether different MA, here in Italy is considered a different MA usually).

You can find a lot of NK videos on youtube, I can't post a link here as I'm a noob but there is a link in my profile.

New Poster should post there first thread on Newbietown, so this is the correct place.

Welcome to Bullshido. What is the Nippon Kempo ruleset?

Comment

Welcome to Bullshido.

Nippon Kempo is a refreshing bit of kick ass.

Comment

Nippom Kempo ruleset

Thanks W.Rabbit! Thanks Plasma!

The rules for competition in NK are IMHO derived from Kendo: