Krav Maga questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Krav Maga questions

Hi I'm a noob who is wanting to ask a few things things about Krav Maga. I am interested in learning a martial art to teach me basic self defense, and from what I initially heard about Krav Maga I thought it sounded like what I wanted. But I am the kind of person who likes to do research before I try anything new and upon reading up about it (including numerous threads on this forum) I find opinion varies a lot in the online martial arts community.
    Basically I get that a good number of krav places are McDojos burin various threads on this site I am seeing two main camps of opinion 1) if you can find a good legitimate krav place with regular sparring, it will teach you valuable real life skills and 2) there is no such thing as a good krav place, it's all hype that has never been pressure tested and as such there is no reason to believe it will teach me anything.
    What is your opinion and what advice would you give me? Do you believe krav is worth doing at all? Keep in mind I have never done any kind of martial art before and my sole interest is learning real world self defense skills.

Welcome to Bushido! You should introduce yourself over in NewbieTown.

Now, to clarify, the bulk of opinions here regarding Krav are:
    -If you can find a school that engages in live, resisting sparring, good
    -If you find a school that doesn't engage in that sparring for any reason, not good.
    I say 'for any reason' because a lot of Krav Maga schools like to pull the whole 'our techniques are too deadly to spar with', which is problematic because no amount of practice with a compliant opponent will help you apply the technique on a resisting one.
    So it should be fairly easy to gauge the quality of any Krav school you could be interested in with the simple question, 'do they spar hard?'.

Comment