Quitting Aikido

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quitting Aikido

Seeing that i'm as fresh as they get concerning bullshido.net, i've come here to see what others may think about my ''little problem''. I also saw how much Aikido is ''loved'' around here and i think that's a plus because i'm looking for constructive advice. Now my problem is that i started training Aikido with a high school friend of my mom and his two kids which i both know for a looong time. But the past few weeks have been really crappy on my fighting spirit due to the fact that when i started it was so flashy and cool with all the interesting motions and whatnot but pretty soon i started questioning it's effectiveness. I was quickly shunned and told that "true aikido starts after black belt" or "you have not seen anything yet". But researching other martial arts (especially karate) has led me to believe that what i'm currently practicing is a form of modified yoga. Now, i don't want to question Ueshiba himself and especially pre-war aikido, but from my point of view it's very hard to find anything useful in it other than balance and overall physichal improvements as well as circular motion and stances, but that's pretty much it. I'm considering switching to Shotokan because ground-fighting aint really my thing and i love kicking. The problem is, how do you really quit a dojo (not just aiki dojo, but any dojo)??? From my personal point of view the martial arts people pick should suit themselves! I also realise this topic is probably useless but i want to see if there are others like me and i didn't really want to post to the aikiweb forum...