Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aikido for beginner

Hey guys,
    Apologies if this is in the wrong sub forum, this will be my first time posting here and I'm basically just wondering if you could give me some advice.
    I've been doing kickboxing for a while now and want to add a grappling art to my repertoire.
    Initially I thought of doing Judo but there is nowhere anywhere near where I live that teaches it, same goes for BJJ.
    The only option seems to be Aikido... which I've heard plenty of not so great things about.
    My question is, would it be worth it training in Aikido? I have no other knowledge of grappling so I was wondering if it would be better than nothing, or if it would just be a big waste of time and money.

Thanks in advance

Originally posted by Archbishop View Post
    Hey guys,
    Apologies if this is in the wrong sub forum, this will be my first time posting here and I'm basically just wondering if you could give me some advice.
    I've been doing kickboxing for a while now and want to add a grappling art to my repertoire.
    Initially I thought of doing Judo but there is nowhere anywhere near where I live that teaches it, same goes for BJJ.
    The only option seems to be Aikido... which I've heard plenty of not so great things about.
    My question is, would it be worth it training in Aikido? I have no other knowledge of grappling so I was wondering if it would be better than nothing, or if it would just be a big waste of time and money.

Thanks in advance
    don't give up until you've also explored Wrestling, Japanese jiu-jitsu (find a good school, there are plenty of bad ones too)shuai jiao(chinese wrestling, check out the local kung fu schools to see if they do this).