Looking for something similar to Okinawan Kenpo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking for something similar to Okinawan Kenpo

I've been a long time lurker on Bullshido, but I haven't posted much. Still, I've found this site to be a valuable resource.

After taking an unfortunately long hiatus from martial arts, I'm interested in getting back into it again.

I've been trying to find something similar to a style I studied before, Okinawan Kenpo. I know there is A LOT of "Ke?po" out there, so I'll try to clarify a bit.

I studied under Kyoshi Richard Myers at the Kaneohe Dojo, back in 2002-2005 while I was in the Marine Corps. I really enjoyed it.

Here's a old handout from the school the explains a few things:

h*ttp://bradsdomain.com/OKKKD/Okinawa%20Kenpo%20Information%20Guide.pdf

This particular style of Karate/Kenpo seems rather rare outside of Hawaii, so I'm fairly certain I'd have to swap to something else while living here in Oregon. I was thinking maybe Shotokan might be close, but I'm honestly not sure.

I could use some guidance and/or advice.