Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Introducing: Me

Hi everyone, long time lurker here.

I've been studying martial arts for about five years now, and I'm absolutely terrible.

The first four years were spent in a shotokan karate dojo. Not the point-sparring kind, no point sparring would have improved the quality of the training tenfold. No sparring, no pads, no bags. Kata, poorly trained 5 or 3 or 1 step kumite, kihon done in absolutely useless combinations, and terrible bunkai.

I don't get the impression there was anything wrong with the atmosphere there, yet I left it incredibly arrogant (t3h d34dly, this IS and this ISN'T real martial arts, too deadly to spar etc.). This was promptly remedied when I got 'punched', 'kicked', and thrown repeatedly and frequently at a point karate dojo and endlessly kicked around at a WTF taekwondo place. I realised that at no point while getting my ass kicked would I be able to land the almighty Nukite(*disclaimer* not actually almighty. I am not responsible for you breaking your own fingers). It didn't immediately convert me to aliveness, but it taught me humility and instilled the first glimmer of MA skepticism.

then follows a year of hopping between point karate, taekwondo, aikido, krav maga, wing chun, boxing, kickboxing, JJJ. After that I bumped into another shotokan dojo. This one was far better than my previous one, and I'll admit it: I enjoy kata, and doing training shotokan kata was somehow very comforting. while the sparring was WKF point sparring, they weren't very strict on the more irritating rules. So I trained there for about eight months and it was far better than my first shotokan experience. I knew the training wasn't very good self-defense wise, but I didn't care much.