sparring with higher belts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

sparring with higher belts

Question for all you higher belts out there. I'm completely new to martial arts having been doing BJJ for a couple of months now. In between the core technique sessions we have these open mat sessions that are for all advertised for all abilities but whever I've been to them there have tended to be me and a few blue purple or brown belts.

For me it's brilliant, these guys are really patient, explain what they've done to me when I'm tapped and give me loads of advice. But I kind of feel a bit guilty in that they can't be getting anything from me - they can tap me without breaking sweat and I'm just no challenge at all. End of the day they're paying to be there and so I'm sort of wasting their time. They all tell me it's no prob and the guys couldn't be nicer. Question is whether deep down you guys hate turning up to sessions and finding noobs like me there. Should I leave it a bit before before I attend these sessions when I'm a bit better. I've just started the club, don't want to be known as the annoying guy this early on.

NEVER feel bad about a higher belt rolling with you, these are a couple of reasons that I was told why:

1. When they teach, they learn as well, due to having to slow down and think about the processes they have learnt and now know instinctually in order to convey them in a decent explanation. This helps entrench details in their own memory. They also need to try out their new moves.

2. You get better by training with people (a) more novice than you, (b) around the same level as you and 9c) better than you because (a) you can try out new moves taught in class, (b) you will have a battle and (c) those better than you will make your defences better. It's the "increasing resistance" factor in "alive" training.