Hi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi

Howdy, was trawlin & came accross this site. Somebody was asking wot Kun Gek Do was all about. I am a member of a Kun Gek Do Club & we have recently started doing competitions, managed to amass 29 medals in 2 fights. We also do gradings, technique & theory. Anyway 1st time doin anything like this, so be kind, not gentle. Ta

Welcome! What sort of ruleset were you fighting under?
    Last edited by lordbd; 6/24/2012 1:09pm, . Reason: damn autocorrect

Comment

Welcome to Bullshido

I thought I spelled it wrong, but as I said I'm a mechanic not an English professor.

Comment

Hi, we were doin 2 x 1.5min rounds, then 1 x 2min round in final. No elbows, spinning backfist or knees, which was slightly awkward as we use these all the time in training, sparring etc. Wot bout u, do u do competitions?

Comment

I haven't yet, but a bunch of my gym-mates have ammy MMA fights this saturday through the barbarian fightclub promotion here on the east coast. I hope to do a fight sometime in the fall if my training goes well.

Comment

Hey thanks, I havent heard of your style of fighting, sounds interesting tho! Can u give me some idea of wot it entails?

Comment

Where is Kun Gek Do from? What's its history? Do you have any videos of it?

Comment

Got this:-

from HERE

Sounds like the Koreans just invented MMA
                Train hard, fight easy.

Comment

Welcome to Bullshido.

Sounds interesting. Is the fighting stance generally more TKD or MT?
                  sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Cake of Doom View Post
                    Got this:-

from HERE

Sounds like the Koreans just invented MMA
                    That description isn't 100% correct.

Kun Gek Do is one of the Korean Kickboxing styles. In this case a Taekwondo/Muay Thai hybrid.

I used to train in another Korean Kickboxing style myself: Kyuk Too Ki (Taekwondo/SanDa hybrid).

At the OP:
                    Welcome to Bullshido.