Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob Introduction

Oh, hai.

I've been involved in martial arts since I was 12 with a brief break here and there. I started with Taekwondo, which is the style I'm most experienced/comfortable with. I started with the USNTF and WTF. I spent about two years with the ITA and was more than happy to leave. I went back to one of my old UNSTF instructors.

Though Taekwondo is my first and main style, I've had the opportunity to study other styles. I studied some Ninjutsu during a brief stay in Japan. I studied 8 Step Mantis during my last year in college. I wouldn't claim to be a practitioner of Ninjutsu or 8 Step, but I did learn a lot from my instructors. What I learned from them made me a more well-rounded martial artist.

While I was in the Marines, I studied MCMAP up to green belt. I was working on brown belt when I got out. When I was stationed in Hawaii, I had the chance to study MMA at Ultimate Fight School (now Fight School Hawaii). After the military, I moved to Iowa. Right now, I've just started to study Judo.

I enjoy exploring different styles and seeing both the similarities and the differences. I think my martial arts experiences have made me more well-rounded. I'm certainly not the person I was when I was 12. When I was a seventeen-year-old black belt, I thought I was the shit. Now I can look back and face-palm because I've grown so much, and realized that there is still more to learn.

Welcome to Bullshido. Hmmm, ex-Marine ninjer Tae Kwondoer? I know that there is some good TKD out there. One of my instructors was belted in TKD. He'd got bb in Texas and said that they called it Bar Clearing Out style.

Be sure to read the throwdown area and try to work out with fellow bullies.
    "Preparing mentally, the most important thing is, if you aren't doing it for the love of it, then don't do it." - Benny Urquidez

Comment