Martial Arts and Meditation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Martial Arts and Meditation

We all know that sports involve a mental game. As a psychologist I often use meditation or meditation-like practices (e.g. hypnosis; guided imagery) to help Ppl improve their mental health and even physical health. As a noob I'm curious if and how mental disciples are used by the fighters on the forums here.

Originally posted by lordbd View Post
    We all know that sports involve a mental game. As a psychologist I often use meditation or meditation-like practices (e.g. hypnosis; guided imagery) to help Ppl improve their mental health and even physical health. As a noob I'm curious if and how mental disciples are used by the fighters on the forums here.
    I use constant continuous visualization. I imagine kicking people in the face who are sitting down when I walk by them. I imagine fighting and attacking people all the time while I am going through my day. That is mainly because I am insane, however, not because I am training myself mentally.
    "We often joke -- and we really wish it were a joke -- that you will only encounter two basic problems with your 'self-defense' training.
    1) That it doesn't work
    2) That it does work"
    -Animal MacYoung

Comment

I fail to see the point here. Once when I was a noob I would imagine that if I would meditate like some grandmaster from some foreign land I would become a force to be feared. Time and experience has taught me otherwise, that actually training properly would work just fine.

On a serious note a positive mindset should be something close to "just enough confidence to feel good about what your doing and just enough fear to keep you safe" If you have to meditate to get there so be it.

Comment

Where did he touch you? Can you show me on the doll?

Comment

Originally posted by blue-dragon View Post