Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BJJ Rules

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    BJJ Rules

    Hello, I am a BJJ Blue Belt from Stockholm Sweden. A friend of mine competed in the recent European Open Championships but was sadly eliminated in the first round. His opponent did a few things that I thought was reason for disqualification. Could you guys tell me why I am wrong. The referee is the headreferee for the European Championships so it is probably me who doesn't understand the rules.



    It's the fight between White and Blue (My guy)

    I thought:

    That you are disqualified if you slam (twice)

    That you lose two points when warned the second time

    Slams happen at around 2:20
    Last edited by Ki-ai; 1/29/2012 1:07pm, . Reason: Silly me

    #2
    A video would likely be helpful.

    Comment


      #3
      That was...stupid. Video is now included

      Comment


        #4
        Wow. Those hardly even qualify as slams any more. Those are ridiculous and there should have been something said, at the very least. Was this event using IBJJF rules?

        http://www.ibjjf.org/docs/rulesibjjf1stedition.pdf

        Comment


          #5
          Originally posted by Ki-ai View Post
          Hello, I am a BJJ Blue Belt from Stockholm Sweden. A friend of mine competed in the recent European Open Championships but was sadly eliminated in the first round. His opponent did a few things that I thought was reason for disqualification. Could you guys tell me why I am wrong. The referee is the headreferee for the European Championships so it is probably me who doesn't understand the rules.



          It's the fight between White and Blue (My guy)

          I thought:

          That you are disqualified if you slam (twice)

          That you lose two points when warned the second time

          Slams happen at around 2:20
          Wasn't aSlam.

          Comment


            #6
            How is it not a slam? (No, seriously...)

            Slams have always been defined by my instructors as picking up a downed opponent up off the mat in order to return them there with force.

            Comment


              #7
              Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

              That was a lifted double.

              Comment


                #8
                Originally posted by David Koresh Jr. View Post
                Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

                That was a lifted double.
                The distinction you're talking about has nothing to do with what IBJJF rules call a slam. A "slam" is lifting a guy from a grounded position (usually the guard) and dropping him back down.

                Those weren't slams because your friend was in the process of returning to his feet and his opponent took him back down, which you can do as hard as you like. For it to be a slam he has to pick him up from guard, not just accelerate him as he stands up under his own power.

                Comment


                  #9
                  Originally posted by David Koresh Jr. View Post
                  Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

                  That was a lifted double.
                  What he said.

                  Comment


                    #10
                    Originally posted by PointyShinyBurn View Post
                    The distinction you're talking about has nothing to do with what IBJJF rules call a slam. A "slam" is lifting a guy from a grounded position (usually the guard) and dropping him back down.

                    Those weren't slams because your friend was in the process of returning to his feet and his opponent took him back down, which you can do as hard as you like.
                    Not entirely true but that's semantics.

                    Comment


                      #11
                      Originally posted by Omega Supreme View Post
                      Not entirely true but that's semantics.
                      Explain? If you're taking your opponent from his feet in IBJJF rules you can plant him as hard and as fast as you like.

                      Comment


                        #12
                        LOL....Great, ever here of a powerslam?

                        Comment


                          #13
                          Originally posted by Omega Supreme View Post
                          LOL....Great, ever here of a powerslam?
                          Like the pro wrestling move? Legal in IBJJF. As it would be in freestyle wrestling, I think. What's your point?

                          Comment


                            #14
                            Originally posted by PointyShinyBurn View Post
                            Like the pro wrestling move? Legal in IBJJF. As it would be in freestyle wrestling, I think. What's your point?
                            Nope, completely illegal in both.

                            Comment


                              #15
                              What's a power slam (sorry, I'm no wrestler)?

                              Comment

                              Collapse

                              Edit this module to specify a template to display.

                              Working...
                              X