Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BJJ Rules

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    #31
    OMFG, I already did!!! Are you fucking kidding me?

    Comment


      #32
      Originally posted by Omega Supreme View Post
      OMFG, I already did!!! Are you fucking kidding me?
      Which video? The video doesn't say that Rampage got DQ'd for the move (which as you acknowledged isn't a powerslam) in the video, and this one:
      is legal in freestyle.

      Comment


        #33
        Is not legal in freestyle. Since you want to be a dick about it you're wrong.





        Comment


          #34
          No, those videos are high school and collegiate US folkstyle wrestling. Freestyle is what I was talking about, hence my repeated use of the word 'freestyle'.

          That last one is NAGA or GQ, I should imagine, which is again pretty much irrelevant to our discussion of IBJJF rules.

          Comment


            #35
            Thread moved to YMAS because it was never about martial technique in the first place. The ensuing disagreement also does not concern technique.
            Shut the hell up and train.

            Comment


              #36
              Originally posted by PointyShinyBurn View Post
              No, those videos are high school and collegiate US folkstyle wrestling. Freestyle is what I was talking about, hence my repeated use of the word 'freestyle'.

              That last one is NAGA or GQ, I should imagine, which is again pretty much irrelevant to our discussion of IBJJF rules.
              I told you in the beginning that it was semantics. That is freestyle. If you don't like it then expand on your fucking terms.

              As per your IBJFF Rules:

              The images shown on the list are
              examples of prohibited techniques
              and do not represent the full array of
              prohibited technical situations and
              variations.

              Don't open this up to a broad range of perspectives and then try to narrow them back down. I asked you to consult your BJJ coach. I ask anybody else who has fought under those rules to chime in. Don't say I'm wrong, I have a perspective. Those were freestyle rules. You better argument would've been-age groupings. The fucking hilarious thing about this entire bullshit is that we both actually agree that the original video wasn't a fucking slam. You had to make this personal.

              Comment


                #37
                Originally posted by Omega Supreme View Post
                That was pretty weak, certainly wouldn't use the words 'amazing' or 'illegal' to describe it.
                sigpic

                Comment


                  #38
                  Originally posted by David Koresh Jr. View Post
                  Not a slam, you attempted to stand up he carried the double leg up and back down. If he attempted to accelerate your decent= slam. He let gravity carry you both down.

                  That was a lifted double.
                  If it was a double leg, why wasn't he awarded points?

                  Comment


                    #39
                    Originally posted by Ki-ai View Post
                    If it was a double leg, why wasn't he awarded points?
                    Depending upon the referee both opponents have to be in the stand up position for it to be considered a takedown. If you noticed, neither one was in the stand up position during the take down. Rather the other person was coming from the downed position.

                    Comment


                      #40
                      I'm late coming in here, but IMO that wasn't a slam.

                      Comment


                        #41
                        Originally posted by Omega Supreme View Post
                        Depending upon the referee both opponents have to be in the stand up position for it to be considered a takedown. If you noticed, neither one was in the stand up position during the take down. Rather the other person was coming from the downed position.
                        This.

                        I think it is a silly rule, but in IBJJF takesdowns only score points if initiated from the standing position. Those were initiated from the knees.

                        Comment


                          #42
                          Originally posted by Ki-ai View Post
                          If it was a double leg, why wasn't he awarded points?
                          I believe he received an advantage didn't he?

                          Comment


                            #43
                            Very interesting videos, Omega. I'm actually learning something from this thread ;)

                            About the takedown: If it has to be initiated from the standing position (IBJJF), how many takedowns and throws will even award points? There is the Jason Scully video with takedowns and a lot of them are with him being on one knee etc.

                            A lot of the takedowns I know (except for throws of course), start from a very low base. How long are you considered to have started a takedown from standing position? One knee on the ground? Completely standing?

                            Comment


                              #44
                              I had a talk with my coach, and he told me that you have to have at least one foot one the ground when initiating. So one knee is allright.

                              Comment


                                #45
                                Yeah, we're just saying where you initiate it.

                                Comment

                                Collapse

                                Edit this module to specify a template to display.

                                Working...
                                X