Amerikicks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Amerikicks

So I have extremely limited experience in what most would consider martial arts-my background is fencing- but have wanted to try something a little different after a post collegiate training slump. I recently saw a groupon for a place called amerikicks not far from where I live that seemed very affordable, at least for a couple of months of lessons. Would anybody here be able to let me know if they are legit/provide quality instruction? I understand that this is pretty much the place to ask about this sort of thing. Thanks!

This place: amerikick dot com? The website makes them look pretty much 100% McDojo.

What are you looking for out of martial arts?

EDIT: Dammit, don't go to the website. Looks like it's been hacked, could have malicious code on it.
    Last edited by CrackFox; 12/28/2011 12:45pm, .

Comment

i could wait for you to respond to crackfox's question about what you are looking for in martial arts, but instead i'm going to tell you to just go do judo, since you are used to a cardio intensive, competitive sport already with fencing.

there's probably a judo dojo near you that is cheaper than TKD and will be better in every way.
      "Face punches are an essential character building part of a martial art. You don't truly love your children unless you allow them to get punched in the face." - chi-conspiricy
      "When I was a little boy, I had a sailor suit, but it didn't mean I was in the Navy." - Mtripp on the subject of a 5 year old karate black belt
      "Without actual qualifications to be a Zen teacher, your instructor is just another roundeye raping Asian culture for a buck." - Errant108
      "Seriously, who gives a fuck what you or Errant think? You're Asian males, everyone just ignores you, unless you're in a krotty movie." - new2bjj

Comment