Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bujinkan rehabilitation

I'm a ninjer, come kill me ;)

No seriously, I've been training in Bujinkan for 3+ years now and the amount of hate here is quite staggering. It's beating a dead horse, but I though I'd get this out of the way before participating in this forum.
    I think I get why, the booj seems to have got quite a hit in reputation because of a number of reasons:
    - someone told people in the 90's that learning booj would make you a deadly ninja
    - the historical claims of the bujinkan are often questionable
    - confusion about grading
    - the general training methods are incomplete for combat / fighting
    - fantasy ninja's
    - those damn video's on youtube

Now I get this, but it's just a bit much. There are plenty of other arts that have these problems, but only the booj get hit on so badly.
    I'm under the impression that many people just had their childhood ninja fantasy squashed and can't hande it ; ) - a bit like the bruce lee hate around here sometimes. A lot of axes to grind.

So some perspective about how the booj is here, whatever you think about it.

I'm a shodan, takes +- 3 years here, godan is at least 5 more. Shodan is supposed to be that you're not a total noob anymore but know the basic techniques at a reasonable level.

My sensei told us from the beginning: you sanshin in the street, you're dead.

Aside from shodan and godan, numbers don't mean much.

we do "alive" exercises and sometimes sparring. we suck and we know it :)

take the ninja bit with a bit of salt. most techniques are gyokko ryu and kukishin, which are armoured. this explains a lot of the problems in the application!

that's it for now or this post will be huge ;)