The new guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The new guy

Its my first time on the site and i'm looking for help with my training regimine. I want to have my first kickboxing bout in a few months and need to get serious with my conditioning. I attended the Rumble in the Valley in Wisconsin this weekend and it got me all the more pumped to get in there! Any input on some hard core training would be greatly appreciated.

First, welcome to Bullshido! I hope you enjoy your time here.

Now, on to business.
    Step 1. Find yourself a kickboxing gym of some kind if you haven't already.
    Step 2. Ask your coach what you should be doing to prepare for a KB match.
    Step 3. Do those things.

Your coach will have a lot better idea of what you need to work on than we do here, so his advice will be more accurate than ours will be.

Comment

Kin has the correct, regarding specific skill training.

However if you're focused on cardio I highly recommend Bas Rutten's workout CD's.
      They are great and can't do you any harm. The 28 Min All Around Workout is a personal favorite.

Comment

Thank you for replying, yeah I have a great gym that I train at! The head instructor is an amazing trainer and has trained a fare share of champion kickboxers. I get to spar with a group of great fighters including some champs. I'm just always looking for new conditioning routines and training insight. I am open minded when it comes to training and fighting, always looking for new ideas.

Comment

By the way, for general fitness, check out CrossFit. Even if you don't join a gym, they post workouts online and you can do most of them with basic equipment. I have all I need for a CrossFit workout in my garage, and I can play whatever music I want as loud as I want. That's how I like to work out.

Comment

Originally posted by Sledge View Post