Aikido

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aikido

I have found an opportunity to take a few Aikido lessons at a new school which has recently opened in my area. I am a long time TKD student but have always wanted to try some Aikido. The TKD system I'm involved with implements a lot of locks, throws, and take downs but doesn't have the smooth redirection that is associated with Aikido. Just wondering if anyone who has experience with it has any comments either for or against.

You would be better off trying to find a Judo club.

Comment

Go with judo man. Much more practical. Fun too. And when you do Judo and not Akido you'l find you get flamed alot less on internet martial arts forums.

Comment

Originally posted by Pendergast View Post
        I have found an opportunity to take a few Aikido lessons at a new school which has recently opened in my area. I am a long time TKD student but have always wanted to try some Aikido. The TKD system I'm involved with implements a lot of locks, throws, and take downs but doesn't have the smooth redirection that is associated with Aikido. Just wondering if anyone who has experience with it has any comments either for or against.
        FOR: You like Aikido? Train it! I found it fun, those wristlocks and throws *may* be useful some of them, and I have to be honest, I only took my kyu exams to reach the hakama hahah didn't care about the grade, just learning and wanted to have that cool cloth.

AGAINST: don't get brainwashed by spiritual shits and all of that. Also I think that if you find something street effective (well something that an average of the ppl that train it can defend theirselves in a random violent situacion) I would pick another training like... emm MMA, Boxing, KickBoxing and that stuff.

Have fun ^^

Comment

For:

Against:
          video game reviews

Comment