Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A complete newbie!

Hello all!

I've made my way here via a few links from NNSD, by way of searching for information on "McDojo's." So far before joining I've done a lot of reading on your site and I've found a lot of useful information, so a thank you is due there.

I've had "martial arts" training as a kid, but looking back at what a lot of that was, it's fair to say I'm a complete newb. I went to 4 separate schools in my youth, but I can say in hindsight that two were 100% red flag McDojo, one seemed genuine, and I was so young in one that I can't make a fair judgement. Either way I was 14 the last time I trained and I'm 30 now. My only holdover knowledge is a small bit of terminology and the ability to count to 10 in Japanese.

So I'm here looking into how to choose a school, how to choose a style, and now asking myself questions like "what do I want out of this?" I had planned on cross training from the beginning of looking into MA, but reading this site I can see that this is both common and encouraged. I'm clearly off to a great start; a prodigy in the making.

I've narrowed it down to wanting to study Muay Thai and either Judo or BJJ, depending on what's available to me when all is said and done.

So my first newbie question to the forum: where is an appropriate place, if any, to post a link to a school and see if anyone experienced can spot any obvious BS to look out for? I'm not looking to have my hand held through the situation but if I've learned anything it's that in suburban NJ, there are countless gyms and schools claiming to teach "Mixed Martial Arts". After weeding out the known scam chains, I'm still left with a lot of choices.

Welcome to the forum. If you're really interested in learning to fight, especially in muay thai and judo/bjj, ask how they do in competition. Those MMA schools that popped up overnight that you're trying to avoid most likely do not actually compete.

Comment